25 ways to be a fake worship leader

This is a repost I found from this link:

http://www.davidsantistevan.com/2011/05/fake-worship-leader/

The last thing you probably want is to be a fake worship leader.

But it’s easy to do. Sin lurks right around the corner. Your flesh longs for adoration. It gets easier to have a form of worship leading but denying true worship.

So, if you want to be a fake worship leader print off this list and hang it on your wall.

Or better yet, avoid it like the your life depends on it:

1. Don’t pray

2. Never intercede for your congregation

3. Don’t meditate on Scripture

4. Live off of yesterday’s anointing

5. Tell your band to do something you’re not willing to do

6. Don’t worship behind closed doors

7. Compete with other worship leaders

8. Talk about yourself all the time

9. Don’t encourage other musicians and worship leaders

10. Always refer to the “Glory Days”, ignoring what God is currently doing

11. Develop an easy system and coast with it

12. Ignore accountability

13. Gossip and put down other churches

14. Ignore the connection between your public & private life

15. Refuse to take the “backseat”

16. Stop answering altar calls

17. Prepare your music, not your heart

18. Only worship God when you’re leading

19. Ignore input from your pastor

20. Don’t pursue a deeper knowledge of God

21. Stay busy at church, ignore your family

22. Keep your private sin private

23. Don’t be desperate for God to move, just play the music

24. Never speak of Jesus outside of church

25. Refuse to learn from others

About Tim Ross Edwards

I'm a married 20-something in north-central Indiana who loves Jesus and loves to play and perform music. I want people to experience God in the music He gives me to give back to you all. I've been raised in church my whole life and wouldn't have it any other way. I'm not ashamed of my Pentecostal experience, but my heart is in love with all my brothers and sisters in Christ.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 25 ways to be a fake worship leader

  1. Thanks for the link to my post, Tim!

Leave a comment