A better way to pray…

A simple quote I heard yesterday and wanted to pass on to you:

Prayer should be substantial and not symbolic”  Substantial meaning, “OF CONSIDERABLE IMPORTANCE OR VALUE”.  Symbolic meaning, “SIGNIFICANT ONLY REGARDING OF IMPLICATIONS AND REPRESENTATIONS”.

How often do my prayers seem like symbols?  When I’m leading my music team in rehearsals, I so often pray.  I do it because I’ve always held in my heart the scripture, “In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths” (Proverbs 3:6).  I’ve always prayed before a service, always prayed before a rehearsal.  But now I look back and see how often my prayers were just symbols of my own desired devotion, not containing real substance, real faith or real communications.  HOW RELIGIOUS CAN YOU GET?

God forgive me.

If I talk to God different than I talk to man (with the exception of tongues, because the mind is unfruitful), I’m religious and symbolic.  If I start using different phonics and syllables to pray to Him, I’m religious.  If I only pray when I feel I need God, I’m religious.  If I fail to keep Him on my mind and seek His will in all things but continue in a path of “church work”, I’m religious.

God forgive me.

We americans use the word “acknowledge” to describe a passive, simple gain of understanding to our surroundings and happenings.  I acknowledge the guy beside me waiting for the elevator.  I acknowledge the rotten fruit in my kitchen.  I acknowledge the visitor who comes into my church and sits in solitude.  But “acknowledge” in THIS verse has several meanings betraying our modern understanding and use of the word: to know by seeing, to be aware, to comprehend, to consider, discern, discover, familiar friend, feel and to have respect for.

Oh man.  I, for the most part, fail to actually be aware of what God is doing week to week.  I fail to comprehend His majesty and sovereignty.  I fail to have respect for His actual working in my life and what I’m doing this for.  I fail to consider what’s really important.  I fail to discover His daily bread for me.  I fail to make Him my familiar friend.

God forgive me.

A better way to pray is that of substance – an actual, real conversation that involves a two-way communication.  Where God speaks to me and where I speak to God.  Where there is a REAL connection – like that of a “familiar friend.”

God, help me to communicate to You in a way that is better; more real, more revealing, more disclosing, more genuine.

About Tim Ross Edwards

I'm a married 20-something in north-central Indiana who loves Jesus and loves to play and perform music. I want people to experience God in the music He gives me to give back to you all. I've been raised in church my whole life and wouldn't have it any other way. I'm not ashamed of my Pentecostal experience, but my heart is in love with all my brothers and sisters in Christ.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment