Jesus was rich, Jesus was poor.

Image

Historians have published studies and preachers have shouted revelations regarding the economic status of Jesus of Nazareth.  I can see both sides, really.  I can see some Bible evidence of Jesus being either richer than me and my family, or poorer than me and my family.  (I’m probably richer than 75% of the world’s people, anyway.)

I was discussing this with my close friend and peer when he [by inspiration of the Holy Spirit I conclude] said basically this:

“Talk to me about my attraction to my wife in relation to Jesus…[awkward silence]…Jesus has very little to do with how much I am or am not attracted to her.  If people tend to prosper, there’s no inherent curse.  If people tend not to prosper, there’s no curse there either.” 

HIS FATHER ALWAYS PROVIDED FOR HIM

Here are some ideas to consider: Jesus asked Judas to go rent the banquet hall for the last supper, which required money.  Jesus did NOT rent the unbroken colt to ride into Jerusalem, it was donated.  Jesus did NOT have the coin on Him to pay state taxes, so He sent Peter to go grab it out of a fish.  3 women in Luke 8:2,3 were donating to Jesus and supporting them by their own means.  Jesus did NOT spend money to hire a caterer to feed the thousands, he supernaturally multiplied the food – it was glorious and free.  Sometimes Jesus had the dough, sometimes He didn’t.  Regardless, His Father always provided for Him.

PROSPERITY DOESN’T EQUAL SPIRITUALITY

I don’t think that this statement is hard to swallow – so why are so many preachers pushing us to prosper?  I know people who can get, earn, save and invest money with the best of them, but have no heart for Jesus at all.

POVERTY DOESN’T EQUAL SPIRITUALITY, EITHER

If you are claiming that Jesus was poor, you might be using it to justify your laziness.  If you believe Jesus was poor, you might be trying to find solace for your lack of education or generosity.

Some people just have a good sense of economics, some don’t.  Some are well educated in finance, others aren’t…but I think we can all take refuge in the fact that our Father will always provide for us.  Jesus calls us to be in the world and it’s economics, but not of the world and it’s economics.  Our calling is above money, to let it serve God’s Kingdom, not tether us.  When Jesus didn’t have the money to pay for a caterer, people still got fed.

Jesus loves and died for the kinds of people who aspire to riches and who are content with poverty – both are equally the object of His love and passion.

I’m not sure Jesus set out to give us hints on how to get more money.  I think Jesus set out to redeem mankind to His Father – the currency He DID want to gather was the souls of men deposited in the vaults of eternity.

About Tim Ross Edwards

I'm a married 20-something in north-central Indiana who loves Jesus and loves to play and perform music. I want people to experience God in the music He gives me to give back to you all. I've been raised in church my whole life and wouldn't have it any other way. I'm not ashamed of my Pentecostal experience, but my heart is in love with all my brothers and sisters in Christ.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment