“God, even our own God.” Psalm 67:6

I found this in a commentary and wanted to share it with you all.

 

It is strange how little use we make of the spiritual blessings which God gives us, but it is stranger still how little use we make of God Himself. Though He is “our own God,” we apply ourselves infrequently to Him, and ask of Him very little.

How seldom do we ask counsel at the hands of the Lord! How often do we go about our business, without seeking His guidance!

In our troubles how constantly do we strive to bear our burdens ourselves, instead of casting them upon the Lord, that He may sustain us! This is not because we can’t, for the Lord seems to say, “I am thine, come and make use of me as you will; you may freely come to my store, and the more the better.”

It is our own fault if we don’t take advantage of the riches of our God.  Then, since you have such a friend, and He invites you, draw from Him daily. Never want while you have a God to go to; never fear or faint while you have God to help thee; go to the treasure and take whatever you need–there is all that you could ever want!

Learn the divine skill of making God all things in your life. He can supply us with everything, or, better still, He can fill us instead of everything. Let me urge you, then, to make use of thy God. Make use of Him in prayer. Go to Him often, because He is thy God. Will we fail to use so great a privilege? Fly to Him, tell Him all your desires. Use Him constantly by faith at all times.

If some dark times have clouded you, use your Jesus as a “sun;” if some strong enemy has come against you, find in Jehovah a “shield,” for He is a sun and shield to His people. If you have lost your way in the mazes of life, use Him as a “guide,” for He will direct you. Whatever you are, and wherever you are, remember God is just what you want, and just where you want, and that He can perform anything and everything you could ever ask.

About Tim Ross Edwards

I'm a married 20-something in north-central Indiana who loves Jesus and loves to play and perform music. I want people to experience God in the music He gives me to give back to you all. I've been raised in church my whole life and wouldn't have it any other way. I'm not ashamed of my Pentecostal experience, but my heart is in love with all my brothers and sisters in Christ.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment